“A pile of Ashes”

“A pile of Ashes”

_thb_2

It was late in the fall when I went camping with a group of friends.The only heat in our cabin was a fireplace.Before we went to bed,we built A BIG FIRE,which hopefully was to last all night.But in the morning,all that remained was  A Pile Of Ashes.By blowing on the hot ashes and putting small shavings of wood and pieces of paper on them,the fire was soon rekindled.

Jesus probably sees my life as a pile of ashes sometimes.In the ashes of coming to the end of my own resources,He breathes new life into me and rekindles my flame.My FIRE must not only last until the next morning,but for all eternity.The Abraham spoke again. “Since I have begun,let me go on and speak futher to the LORD,though I am but DUST & ASHES”(Gen.18:27 LB)

Thank You,Jesus,for the breath of Your Spirit blowing in me.Grant that my flame will always be kindled for Your ministry.Amen.

“GOD GIVES ROAD SIGNS”

1232d688b541dbb8

A friend and I decided to go shopping in a distant town,where neither of us had been before.We started out not knowing the way,but confident that with the help of the road signs,we shouldn’t have any trouble finding our destination.That kind of experience doesn’t sound scary,but it seems when God calls me to leave what I know and travel into the unknown,I’m afraid.I forget that He too promises to give me road signs along the way to direct me to where He’s leading.When life’s road becomes puzzling and intricate,it’s comforting to know I’m not following my own directions.

For this great God is our God FOREVER and EVER.

He will be our guide until we die (Ps.48:14 LB).

 Thank You,Father,for guidance down the road You’ve called me to travel.May I always remember to watch for Your road signs.Amen.

“JOY OF LIVING”

1_119441576m

I have a friend who always looks happy.

She seems to enjoy every moment of life and makes experiences that would be BORING for others,fresh with excitement.As we became CLOSER friends,I realized that she was an ordinary person,with extraordinary faith.

With Jesus,it is possible to make every day an exciting adventure.I am challenged by each experience,to show my faith through the joy of living.

So I say to you:Ask and it will be given to you;seek and you will find;knock and the DOOR will be opened to you(Luke 11:9 NIV).

Father,teach me to respond to everyday experience with a FRESH attitude.Thank You for providing a reason to be joyful.AMEN

“FREEDOM TO CHOOSE”

 

Sometimes when I pray for salvation of one of my friends,God doesn’t seem to be answering.

I want Him to perform some miracle so my friend will immediately want to serve HIM.God,however,doesn’t manipulate anyone’s life.Instead of controlling me like a puppet,

He has given me and everyone else a freedom to choose.God will help me to influence others with my life,but I can only make  decisions for myself.I must,therefore,ask God to guide me in ways of showing His love to those around me.This is good,and pleases God our Savior,who wants all men to be saved and to come to a knowledge of the truth ( 1 Tim.2:3,4 NIV).

O mighty God,I realize that even though You want all men to be saved,You don’t manipulate them.Show me ways I can be an effective influence for You.Amen.

 “IDOLATRY” 

    We walk as pilgrims through the earth,

            With empty hands,breft and bare;

         To gather wealth were little worth –

                Twould only burden life the more,

                               If men will go the way to death,

                        “With them we will part company;

                 For God will give us all we need

            To cover our necessity.

-Tersteegen

Just as God provided manna in the wilderness for the children of Israel each day,so does He provide daily for each of His children now too.If I store up possessions, I not  only spoil the gift,but also myself.It can become a barrier between God and myself,because my trust,security,and God are my treasure is.Hoarding is idolatry.Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth,where moth and rust destroy,and where thieves  break in and steal…For where your treasure is,there your heart will be also ._thb_IMG_0404

(Matt. 6:19,21 NIV).

Lord,show me when I become too involved in my earthly possessions.Help me to keep my life as burden-free as possible.Amen.

 “  BEGIN IN THE SOUL  “

 1_768639238s

If there is right in the Soul,

There will be Beauty in the person;

 

If there is BEAUTY in the person,

There will be HARMONY in the HOME;

If there is harmony in the HOME,

There will be order in the NATION,

 

If there is order in the nation,

There will be peace in the WORLD.

                                                A Chinese Proverd

Too many times I look at things that seem impossible to change.I should,instead, begin with myself and see if everything is as it should be.

Only then can I try to change other things.

Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? (Luke 6:41 NIV).

Lord,teach me to set goals that I can handle before trying to change the whole world.AMEN.

Leave a Reply

