Soul Sounds

https://huisjenphilosophy.wordpress.com/tag/conor-clapton/

Eric Clapton: Soul Sounds
Posted on December 9, 2011

1987, in a treatment center for addiction:

“It surprised me to realize that here I was in a treatment center, the environment should be safe, and I was in serious danger. I’m really scared, really desperate. At that time, almost of their own accord, my legs gave way and I fell to my knees. In the (privacy) my room, I begged for help.

“I have no idea to whom I think I speak, I just know that I am at the end of the” tether “mine. I do not have anything left to dilawan.Lalu I remembered what I had heard about surrender, something I thought I could never do – pride I just do not allow it – but I know that on my own, I would not be successfully, so I asked for help, and with my knees, I surrendered.

“In a few days I realized that something had happened to me. An atheist would probably say that it was only a change of attitude, and to a certain extent, it is true, but there are more than that. I have found a place to turn to, a place I have always known was there but never really wanted, or needed, to believe and enter.

“From that day until now, I never fail to pray in the morning, on his knees, asking for help, and at night, to express gratitude for my life and, most importantly, for my sobriety. I choose to kneel because I feel the need to humble myself when I pray, and with my ego, this is the least I can do. If you ask why I do all this, I’ll tell you. , , because it works, as simple as that.

“Before I started the recovery, I find God in music and the arts, with writers such as Herman Hesse and Khalil Gibran, and musicians such as Muddy Waters, Howlin ‘Wolf and Little Walter. In some way, in some form, God is always there, but now I have learned to talk to him.

“Music endure everything, and like God, it is always present. It does not need any help, obstacles and suffering. It always finds me, and with God’s blessing and permission, it will always be there. “

(Eric Clapton, The Autobiography)

“Sejak hari itu sampai sekarang, saya tidak pernah gagal untuk berdoa di pagi hari, berlutut, meminta bantuan, dan pada malam hari, untuk mengungkapkan rasa terima kasih untuk hidup saya dan, yang paling penting, untuk ketenangan saya. Saya memilih untuk berlutut karena saya merasa kebutuhan untuk merendahkan diri ketika saya berdoa, dan dengan ego saya, ini adalah yang paling bisa saya lakukan”.~Eric Clapton

Leave a Reply

